Fine For Left Lane Driving May Increase
We’ve all been stuck behind someone (with a Pennsylvania or New York license plate) in the left lane of the expressway or parkway going a lot slower than everyone else. If a new bill passes the assembly, the fine for not getting over will increase.
All of us in New Jersey take our left lane driving very seriously. Expressway, Parkway, Black or White Horse Pike, Tilton Road, bike trail, cereal aisle of the supermarket — if it has a left lane and you’re in it, you better not be going below the speed limit. It’s already against the law in New Jersey to drive in the left lane of a road unless you are passing, but it seems like no one ever gets pulled over for it. And even if you do get pulled over, the fine isn’t too large — but that might be changing soon.
A state assembly committee is considering a bill to seriously increase left lane driving fines in New Jersey to up to $300. The fine, now, starts at $50.
State Senator Donald Norcross is sponsoring the measure in the Upper House. He says, “At some point in time, whether on the Atlantic City Expressway, Route 295, or the Garden State Parkway, most of us have encountered the driver who refuses to leave the left lane, creating an unsafe traffic situation for all of us. The increase in penalties and signage will help deter this behavior, reminding people that ‘Keep Right’ means keep right.”
According to the National Motorist Association (NMA) website, observing lane courtesy laws results in safer, less congested roadways, improves gas mileage and reduces driver stress.
In a statement issued earlier this year, statement issued by Stephen Carrellas, Director of Government and Public Affairs for the New Jersey Chapter of the NMA said, “The National Motorists Association supports Senator Norcross’ efforts to foster the smooth, safe and efficient flow of traffic on multi-lane highways by bringing attention to proper lane courtesy.”