Every year, the NFL recognizes players who excel on the field and create a lasting impact for their community of the field with The Walter Payton Man of the Year Award. Each nominee with receive a $55,000 donation to the charity of their choice and the winner will have a $250,000 donation from the NFL Foundation along with the award's presenting sponsor Nationwide.

2015 Walter Payton NFL Man Of The Year Finalist Press Conference
The NFL's Walter Payton Man of the Year Photo by Mike Lawrie/Getty Images

On Tuesday, the NFL announced the 32 nominees for this year's award and the Philadelphia Eagles player who was selected this year was Lane Johnson.  This is the first time that the All-Pro Right Tackle has been nominated for this prestigious award, thanks in part to his work as Kooth Ambassador.  Kooth is a program that provides confidential health services for free to Youth in a safe environment where they do not have to be afraid to speak honestly about their struggles.

Some other off-the-field activities Johnson has been working with include speaking engagements in support of the Jewish Federation of Atlantic and Cape May Counties in South Jersey along with the Gold Star Family initiative which provides unique opportunities for Retired Military Veterans and their families.

Eagles fans can show support for Lane Johnson's nomination for Walter Payton Man of the Year by participating in Nationwide's Charity Challenge. Fans who post on X (formerly known as Twitter) with the hashtag #WPMOYChallenge along with Lane Johnson's social media handle can help raise money for Johnson's charities. The nominee who receives the most social media votes will have $35,000 donated to the charity of their choice along with the second place vote getter having $10,000 donated and the third place player receiving $5,000 for their favorite charity.

Dallas Cowboys v Philadelphia Eagles
Eagles All-Pro Right Tackle Lane Johnson smiles after win over the Dallas Cowboys Photo by Mitchell Leff/Getty Images

Since the Man of the Year Award was first created in 1970, only three Eagles players have won this honor:

*Pro Football Hall of Famer Harold Carmichael in 1980
*All-Pro Eagles Cornerback Troy Vincent in 2002
*Super Bowl Champion Chris Long in 2018

Super Bowl LIII - New England Patriots v Los Angeles Rams
Eagles Pass Rusher Chris Long receives the 2018 Man of the Year Award at Super Bowl LIII Photo by Scott Cunningham/Getty Images

For more information about the award and how you can support Lane Johnson's nomination, you can visit the Walter Payton Man of the Year online here.

13 Jersey Girls Cheering for the 2023 Philadelphia Eagles

Even though they perform in Philadelphia, New Jersey will be well-represented on the 2023-2024 Eagles cheerleading squad.

Gallery Credit: Heather DeLuca